Performing Arts Listings

Hello Everyone! The weather is wonderful! It’s time to dance and sing! Here are some Performing Arts listings to watch and take part in this week:

TANZKOMPLIZEN
Check out the cool dance performances for children from Tanzkomplizen on their Vimeo site for free here (Including one called Billy, where a performer dances with the famous IKEA shelving unit)

https://vimeo.com/channels/tanzkomplizen

Lincoln Center at Home

>Songwriting workshop with M. Ashley

https://www.facebook.com/LincolnCenterNYC/videos/537857650246108/

and TODAY Thursday 8pm CST (2 pm EST) Vocal Workshop live with Ms. Ashley:

Learn about melismas in music by taking a closer look at singer, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist Zeshan B’s #ConcertsForKids on their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/LincolnCenterNYC

Also check out the 20 minute Concert on the Lincoln Center at Home Facebook page: Morley and Chris Bruce perform an uplifting duet on acoustic guitars for #ConcertsForKids! Weaving together the threads of jazz, soul, and folk traditions, they offer original songs filled with hope and joy that reflect our connection to each other and the natural world.  https://www.facebook.com/LincolnCenterNYC

OR

>Pantomime Workshop: Write and star in your own silent comedy with Mr. B:

It’s Songwriting Week at The New Victory Theater!

Check out this great series of videos and get working on your own song!

New Victory Arts Break – Songwriting Week

Screen Shot 2020-04-23 at 12.34.58

DANCE WITH THE ROCKETTES!
Follow the Rockettes on Instagram for a live dance class every Thursday!

12pm Eastern, 6pm Berlin Time 

https://www.instagram.com/therockettes/?hl=en

rockettes

Kindertanz in English online

2.5-5 Years Old

Mondays 16:00

Contact netta.weisler1@gmail.com

Second City’s Really Awesome Improv Show, 

Thursday 2pm EDT, 8pm Berlin Time, so for older kids who can stay up….

This family friendly, high energy improv show, is fun for all ages, and relies on audience suggestions and participation, very “Whose Line is it Anyway,” but 100% family friendly.The performance is free, but they request donations. Register here: 

https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_kJyFGDxLRNinw_smLqvGDQ

Musician Tom Chapin and his daughters The Chapin Sisters host “Mornings with Papa Tom,” a free family folk music concert/singalong coming live from their living room every weekday.

https://www.facebook.com/tomchapinmusic

17:00 Berlin Time (11 am EDT)

papatom

The Metropolitan Opera

Streaming online performances every night this week for free. They go live at 7:30 pm EDT but you can view them on their website until 6:30 pm the next day, and Saturdays’ performance is 1pm EDT, so 7pm in Berlin. 

This rest of this week’s Metropolitan Opera Live in HD schedule:

Wednesday, April 22: Offenbach’s Les Contes d’Hoffmann

1600x685-hoffmann2

Starring Anna Netrebko, Kathleen Kim, Ekaterina Gubanova, Joseph Calleja and Alan Held

Thursday, April 23: Lehár’s The Merry Widow
Starring Renée Fleming, Kelli O’Hara and Nathan Gunn

Friday, April 24 (Viewers’ Choice): Verdi’s La Traviata

Starring Natalie Dessay, Matthew Polenzani and Dmitri Hvorostovsky

Saturday, April 25 (at 1pm): At-Home Gala

More than 40 leading artists perform in a live stream from their homes around the world.

Sunday, April 26: Rossini’s La Cenerentola

Starring Joyce DiDonato and Juan Diego Flórez

https://www.timeout.com/newyork/news/the-metropolitan-opera-is-streaming-a-new-batch-of-free-performances-every-night-this-week-041920

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s